Germany to set up a science centre in Ghana

The German Government is to set up a science centre in Ghana to help mitigate the effects of climate change in nine West African countries.

Asia 728x90

They are; Ghana, Mali, Nigeria, Togo, Ivory Coast, Benin, Senegal, Burkina Faso and Gambia.

Under the project, there would be satellite centres located in all the countries linked to the headquarters in Accra.

Ms. Sherry Ayittey, Minister of Environment, Science and Technology, disclosed this to Ghana News Agency in Accra on Thursday, after participating in the launch of German-West African Science Centre for Climate Change and Adapted Land Use (GWASCCCLU) in Berlin, Germany this month.

GWASCCCLU was initiated by the German Government to assist developing countries address challenges of climate change through exchange of scientific knowledge and capacity building.

She noted that the centre would in addition help generate knowledge and develop analytical capability in the sub-region on climate change and adapted land use for sustainable development in the major river basins and preserved natural resource.

Ms. Ayittey said the centres would make available to the West African research community, expertise from Germany on climate change and adapted land management through partnership and strengthen the ability in the sub-region to assess the impact of land policies affected by climate change.