President Mills appoints National Gas Development Task Force

The President, Professor John Evans Atta Mills has appointed a National Gas Development Task Force to manage and help expedite the ongoing gas project. The commercialisation Task Force, to be chaired by Prof. Kwesi Botchwey, former Minister of Finance and a Member of the Economic advisory Council will review all aspects of the project, including its technical, commercial, economic and financing options, and make recommendations on the most efficient and viable way of bringing the project to fruition.

Asia 728x90

Other Members of the Task Force are: Amarquaye Amar – Energy Policy advisor to the President, Emmanuel Buah – Deputy Minister of Energy, Nana Asafu-Adjaye – Managing Director, Ghana National Petroleum Corporation (GNPC) and Dr. Kwaku Temeng.

The rest are: Seth Tekper, Deputy Minister of Finance and Economic Planning and Ms. Anna Bossman, Deputy Commissioner of CHRAJ.

A statement signed by the Secretary to the President, J.K Bebaako-Mensah said the Ministry of Energy will provide a Secretary to the Task Force.

The Task Force is expected to submit its report within three months.

The chairman of the task force Prof. Botchwey thanked the President for the trust reposed in them and assured that the Task Force will execute its mandate with dispatch, guided by a keen sense of what is in the supreme national interest.