Brazil seal place in Germany

Brazil have qualified for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany after an impressive 5-0 win over Colombia meant they won the sixth Women’s South American Tournament with a round to spare.

Asia 728x90

Victories in each of their first two games earned Brazil a fifth title and also secured qualification for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament at London 2012.

A goal from Erika Santos gave the Brazilians a 1-0 lead at half-time and they ran out comfortable winners in the second half, with a double from Marta and goals from Grazielle Nascimento and Cristiane sealing the victory.

Brazil, who finished runners-up in the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup in China, are the only South American team to have played in all five editions of the tournament.

A 0-0 draw between Argentina and Chile in the other game meant Brazil‘s lead in the group is enough before the final round of fixtures.

All three of the other teams still have a chance to finish second and qualify for both tournaments.

A win for Chile against Brazil would guarantee second place no matter the other result but should they fail to beat the leaders, the winner of the match between Colombia and Argentina would take second. A win for Brazil, coupled with a draw in the other tie, would see all three teams finish on two points and Chile would finish second due to their superior goal difference.

Argentina 0-0 Chile
Brazil 5-0 Colombia

Brazil 6 points; Chile 2 (0); Argentina 1 (-4); Colombia 1 (-5)

Colombia vs. Argentina
Chile vs. Brazil